September 28, 2016

POPSUGAR Must Have Box Review | September 2016

POPSUGAR sent me this Must Have Box to try for complimentary testing purposes. Full disclaimer details here. #MustHaveBox
This is my third POPSUGAR Must Have Box and I’m happy to report it’s a lot better than the last one I got! I didn’t even write a post about the last one because the items included felt SO random. The first one I got was in June and it was pretty awesome. In case you’re unfamiliar with the Must Have Box, it’s a subscription box delivered monthly filled with full-size lifestyle goods – everything from beauty products to snacks and accessories. It’s valued at over $100 worth of product and the full-size box is $39.95/month (also a mini size for $18.95). This September box had six items I’m excited to share. There’s also a discount code at the end of this post if you like the kind of stuff you see in this POPSUGAR Must Have Box September 2016 review.

POPSUGAR Must Have Box September 2016 Review

2016-09-21-14-53-15

When the POPSUGAR Must Have Box arrived at my home, I was surprised at how BIG it was. I was thinking it had to be something pretty large to need a box this big. So I grabbed my box cutter and out came this super trendy wide brim wool fedora hat – PERFECT for fall! A quick glance over revealed a few other winning products I was very excited to try out…

Jack & Lucy | Bicoastal Wide Brim Hat

I have never been a hat girl, but I just love the look of these fedora hats on all the fashion bloggers and celebs I see on IG. I mean, tell me you looked at all the celebrities in this article and DIDN’T want to feel so fabulous in a hat like this?! Whatever. Maybe it’s just me. Considering Kristin Cavallari and Jennifer Aniston are some of my style icons and BOTH of them are in this article, I take it as a sign I need to start wearing this fedora hat tomorrow. It retails for $58. The box already paid for itself.

NCLA | Mani-er Tool Kit

My June POPSUGAR box had a patriotic glitter nail polish from NCLA and I really loved it. The brand is cool-girl approved and this little kit contains quality tools perfect to keep in your purse or luggage for an emergency hangnail. You really can do an entire perfect mani with it. I love that it includes the metal cuticle pusher, too. Retails for $16 at shopncla.com.

BRIOGEO | Don’t Despair, Repair! Deep Conditioning Mask

I’ve tried a few BRIOGEO things in the past from my Sephora PLAY box, Birchbox and Ipsy boxes over the years. I never was totally WOWED by any of their products. They smelled nice, but I was just happy with what I currently was using. I thought it was extremely generous that POPSUGAR included a full size of this hair mask, so I hoped it was awesome …and it is! I used it a couple of times before writing this review to know for sure – once air drying and once using my blow dryer/flat-iron. My hair felt smooth, shiny and hydrated but with a nice bounce to it. Very happy with this product and it retails for $36 at briogeohair.com, Sephora and other retailers.

POPSUGAR Must Have Box September 2016 Review | Wool Fedora, Travel Mani Kit, Briogeo Deep Conditioning Mask, FLINT Lint Roller, Smith and Cult Lip Lacquer, The Gluten Free Bites

FLINT | Lint Roller

This is the fanciest lint roller I’ve ever seen. It’s discreet, slim, platinum packaging (so you can keep it in your purse or work bag and no one will think you’re a crazy cat lady (or dog lady)) is also refillable. You twist it up to reveal the extra sticky paper and it rolls back down into the tube so it doesn’t collect more random fuzz. As someone who owns two golden retrievers, I put this right in my purse to keep with me 24/7. It also fits nicely in your car’s glove compartment or center console. It retails for a cool $9.99 on meetflint.com.

SMITH & CULT | Lip Lacquer, “The Warning”

Of course, I love beauty products and Smith & Cult is a great brand to receive in a subscription box since their items aren’t exactly drugstore prices (their nail polishes are so pretty). Unfortunately, this bold red shimmer shade isn’t for me and I know I’ll never wear it, so it’s going to be given away to someone lucky (who has the balls to rock that shade more regularly than I would). It’s paraben and gluten-free and retails for $22 on smithandcult.com.

THE GLUTEN FREE BITES | Dark Chocolate Coconut

This was probably my most favorite item in the box this month. I follow a gluten-free diet for medical/allergy reasons, so any chance I get to try gluten-free snacks (especially for free since they’re usually 3x the price of ‘normal’ snacks), I’m an ecstatic girl! Plus, anything with coconut is good with me. These little protein-packed bites were SO delish. Two had something like 8g of protein and only 100 calories!

I would definitely buy these again and recommend anyone try them for on-the-go snacking. They’re vegan, gf, dairy-free and GMO-free. Since they were so filling, the bag lasted me a full week since I could only eat 1-3 per ‘snacking’ (and I can usually eat an entire bag of Doritos in one sitting… like the party size bag). Retails for $4.99 on theglutenfreebar.com.

TOTAL VALUE OF BOX: $146.98

Total subscription cost: $39.95

POPSUGAR Must Have Box September 2016 Review

Do you think this Must Have Box was a good deal? I personally was very happy with the items and can’t wait to continue to use many of them (sorry, the gluten-free bites are dunzo) in the upcoming months.


If you’re looking for a new subbie box to try and are tired of the deluxe mini sizes, you need to check out the POPSUGAR Must Have Box (click here to learn more). If you’re interested in trying it out, you can get $5 off your first box by using code SHOP5.


I hope you enjoyed this POPSUGAR Must Have Box September 2016 review. Let me know if you’ve tried this subscription box in the comments!
are you following me?
Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Bloglovin’ | SnapChat

-Steffanie

LUSTING FOR

Shop Green Beauty At The Detox Market

LATEST VIDEOS